As per Statute of the Centre, for each session of the Governing Council a President and three Vice-Presidents are elected. These office bearers constitute the Bureau of the Governing Council. 

The current office bearers of the 14th Governing Council are:


Datuk Ir. Ts. Dr. Siti Hamisah Bt Tapsir
President, NAM S&T Centre and
Secretary General,
Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology,
Environment and Climate Change (MESTECC), Malaysia
Tel: 03-8885 8020 Fax: 03-8888 9000
Email:  /


Prof. Ashutosh Sharma
Vice-President, NAM S&T Centre and
and Secretary to the Government of India,
Department of Science & Technology,
Technology Bhavan,
New Mehrauli Road, New Delhi, India
Ph. (+91 11) 26590412 / 26510068;
Fax: (+91 11) 26863847


Mr. Chinthaka S. Lokuhetti
Vice-President, NAM S&T Centre and
Secretary, State Ministry of Technology & Innovation,
Ministry of Higher Education, Technology and Innovation,
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Email: /


Hon’ble Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education and Human Resources, Tertiary Education and Scientific Research, Mauritius

The Bureau of the GC, if required, may meet in between the GC meetings. Thus in order to review the programmes and activities of the Centre, the Bureau held its interim meetings in New Delhi in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1999 and 2003, in Colombia in 1997, in Indonesia in 2000, in Mauritius in 2001, in Sri Lanka in 2004 and 2010, in Cuba in 2006, in Zambia in 2008, in Nepal in 2012, in Zimbabwe in 2014, in Uganda in 2015, in Egypt in 2016 and in Sri Lanka in 2018.

Former Presidents of the Governing Council

Since the establishment of the NAM S&T Centre, the office of the President of the Governing Council has been held by:


Dr. M.Y. Saada (Egypt)

From March 1989 - November 1999

Mr. M. Fazlur Rahman (Bangladesh)

From November 1999 - December 2002

Prof. Dr. Fawzi A.A. Elrefaie (Egypt):

From December 2002 - November 2005

Prof. Carunia M. Firdausy (Indonesia)

From November 2005 - November 2009

Prof. Mohamed Tarek Hussein (Egypt)

From November 2009 - May 2010

Prof. Maged Al-Sherbiny (Egypt)

From May 2010 - September 2013

Mr. Mmboneni Muofhe (South Africa)

From September 2013 - May 2014

Mr. Daan du Toit (South Africa)

From May 2014 - September 2017
Datuk Seri Dr. Mohd. Azhar bin Hj. Yahaya From September 2017 - November 2019